Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Steve Allen - Civilized Discourse

my personal version of a tract

I wrote a letter to Steve Allen back in the early 1990’s. I just got involved with Long Beach Community Television, and wanted to get a meaningful celebrity interview. He was the first host of the Tonight Show, starred in many movies and television shows, and authored books about a variety of subjects.

He came out with a new book, Steve Allen on the Bible, Morality, and Religion. He had given an interview with MTV where he said, “Of course we needs censorship!” This took me by surprise, so I looked to interview him about his book and his statement about censorship.

Months passed since writing the letter, but eventually I received a reply. Steve Allen agreed to be interviewed by me. Arrangements were made through his secretary. I went to his office in Burbank. A producer from LBCT came along to do camera. It was a pleasant experience, and he didn’t shy away from any of my questions.

He was asked to contribute to the work, The Book Your Church Doesn’t Want You To Read. He wrote about abortion. When the book was released, I got an invitation to the book signing and release party. Steve Allen autographed my book, then later I went to a party held at the oceanfront house of someone I knew from my time with Atheists United or the Humanist Association of Los Angeles.

Memory fades as I look back. Rich people lounged around the house, Steve Allen sat at the piano and may have been playing it. Suddenly, my brain kicked in, “Holy cow! I was in a Robert Altman movie without knowing it!”

Copy of The Book Your Church Doesn't Want You To Read. Autographed by Steve Allen.

His interview became more meaningful to me after the election of Trump. The more we transformed into a ‘mean and angry’ country, the more I thought of Steve Allen talking about how we are the ‘rational animals’. He also talked about the crises in critical thinking and how the president of the United States needed to ‘rub our nose in it’. Strangely enough, that also happened, but probably not as Mr. Allen would have wanted it.

I have sent this video as an email and post many times over the years, in the same spirit Christians post Jesus (or Robert Powell) images to their friends and potential converts. We could certainly use a lesson in critical thinking and rational decision making skills. Enjoy Civilized Discourse!

Speaking of Robert Powell:

Discussion about this podcast